3 popular Pakistani players many may not know played in IPL


Indian Premier League (IPL) started in 2008 and since then many seasons have been successfully played over the years. In the history of IPL so far, many big and legendary players have been a part of this tournament. From Shane Warne to the great Sachin Tendulkar, everyone has had a taste of IPL.


When the first season of IPL was played in 2008, players from all over the world participated in it. Many players from Pakistan were also part of that IPL, though, they don’t play now Legendary players like Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi and Kamran Akmal were a part of IPL 2008.

However, after the 2008 Mumbai attack, the circumstances changed and after that Pakistani players have been banned from playing in the IPL.


11 Pakistani players took part in the first season of IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders had the highest number of Pakistani players in the team. Fans remember about players like Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Umar Gul and Kamran Akmal that these players were part of IPL but some such players also played in the first season of IPL, which you probably don’t know about.

Today in this article, we talk 3 players who were a part of IPL but many might not know.

Salman Butt

Former Pakistan opener Salman Butt was also a part of the first season of IPL. He was included in their team by the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). Salman Butt played a total of 7 matches for KKR and scored 193 runs that season. His highest score during this period was 73 runs which he scored against Chennai Super Kings.


Younis Khan

In the first season of IPL, Younis Khan was part of the Rajasthan Royals team that won the title that season. However, the veteran Pakistan cricketer played only 1 match that season and never featured in the Playing XI again.

Mohammad Asif

Former Pakistan fast bowler Mohammad Asif was part of the Delhi Daredevils team in the IPL 2008. He played 8 matches for Delhi that season and took 8 wickets, though he could score only 3 runs with the bat. For the Daredevils team led by Virender Sehwag, Mohammad Asif did his best against Deccan Chargers. He took the wickets of legendary players like Adam Gilchrist and VVS Laxman giving just 19 runs in that match.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top