With Amazon out, here are all the contenders to compete for IPL Media Rights

The Indian Premier League’s much-anticipated media rights auction is expected to attract four bidders: Viacom18, Disney Star, Zee, and Sony. The company which wins the bidding war will get to broadcast. On June 12, an e-auction for media rights from 2023 to 2027 will be held. Four firms have been shortlisted for bidding and have submitted their final offers; we will announce the winner soon. Viacom 18, Disney Star, Sony, and Zee are the four companies that have been nominated.


Four distinct e-auction packages will be available, each comprising 74 games per season for a five-year period from 2023 to 2027, with the potential to increase the number of games to 94 in the final two years. The procedure has been broken down into four separate packages (A, B, C and D). Package A is just for TV in the Indian subcontinent, whilst Package B is only for digital in the same region. Package C is for digital rights to 18 games per season, while Package D is for combined TV and digital rights for international markets.

Amazon has withdrawn from the Indian Premier League media rights auction, leaving the field to rivals such as Walt Disney Co., which owns Disney-Star, and Mukesh Ambani’s Reliance Industries Ltd., which owns Viacom18/Reliance.


Many big names in the entertainment industry applied for the media rights to the mega event, According to Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) sources, a top industrial house from the country could win the offer.

The media rights for the current cycle are projected to end with some high numbers, as the league grows and adds value every year. The current bidders will be awarded the rights to broadcast the league for a five-year period, beginning with the tournament’s 16th edition in 2023 and ending in 2027.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top