T20 World Cup: 6 players who led their team against India and always won

Kane and Dhoni

The T20 World Cup is the highest level of competing in the T20 format at the international level. Teams from across the world have been a part of the T20 World Cup ever since the tournament’s inception in the year 2007. Team India was the first to be crowned as the ICC T20 World Champions.


After that, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, England and West Indies have also won the ICC T20 World Cup, with the Caribbean outfit capturing the title twice. India has always done well in this competition, but the following 6 players have a 100% win record as a captain in T20 World Cup matches against India.

1. Chris Gayle won both of his matches as a captain against India in T20 World Cup

Chris Gayle will always be remembered for his epic innings in the shortest format of the game. He has earned the tag of the Universe Boss because of his fantastic performances in T20 arena.


Gayle was once the captain of the West Indies cricket team. He led Windies twice against India, with Windies winning on both occasions. In 2009, Windies beat India by seven wickets, while in 2010, the Caribbean team emerged victorious by 14 runs.

2. Michael Clarke

Michael Clarke captained Australia in the ICC World T20 event of the year 2010. The Aussies faced the Indian cricket team in the 15th match of the tourney in Barbados.

Half-centuries from David Warner and Shane Watson guided Australia to 184/5 in 20 overs. Chasing 185 to win, India lost the game despite Rohit Sharma’s unbeaten 46-ball 79.


3. Lasith Malinga won ICC T20 World Cup 2014 Final against India as SL captain

Lasith Malinga captained Sri Lanka in the final of the 2014 World T20 event. The Sri Lankan cricket team crossed swords with the Men in Blue in the summit clash.

Captain Malinga led from the front by bowling a fantastic spell in the final. Eventually, the islanders emerged victorious in that game as they captured the title for the first time.

4. Kumar Sangakkara

Another Sri Lankan star to appear on this list is the country’s former wicket-keeper batsman Kumar Sangakkara. He led the Sri Lankan side in the 2010 World Cup.

Suresh Raina’s 63 runs helped India score 163 runs in 20 overs. Sri Lanka managed to chase the target on the last ball despite losing Mahela Jayawardene and Sanath Jayasuriya early.

5. Daniel Vettori

Daniel Vettori was the first player to lead his team to a win against India in ICC T20 World Cup history. Playing in the Super 8 stage of 2007 T20 WC, Vettori’s Kiwi side beat India by ten runs.

Brendon McCullum’s 31-ball 45 guided New Zealand to 190 runs in the first innings. Chasing 191, India could score 180/9 in 20 overs despite Gautam Gambhir’s half-century.

6. Kane Williamson

Kane Williamson has achieved a lot of success in ICC events while leading New Zealand against India. Recently, the Kiwis defeated the Indian cricket team in the inaugural World Test Championship Final.

Back in 2016, New Zealand defeated India in their opening game of T20 World Cup despite the conditions favoring spin. The Blackcaps recorded a 47-run victory against India in Nagpur.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top