Best XI of players let go by Delhi Capitals in IPL

Virender AB Delhi Capitals

The Delhi Capitals have been a part of the Indian Premier League since the inaugural edition of the tournament. The owners of this team named the franchise as Delhi Daredevils before changing it to Delhi Capitals before the 2019 season. 


This franchise represents the capital city of India. However, the Delhi-based team is yet to win an IPL championship. They have qualified for the playoffs multiple times and even made it to their first final in 2020. Unfortunately, they have not yet added their first trophy to the cabinet.

Over the last 13 years, many big names have been a part of the Delhi Capitals team, and here’s a look at the best XI of players released by this franchise. 


Openers – Former Delhi Capitals captains Virender Sehwag and David Warner

The Indo-Australian duo of Virender Sehwag and David Warner will open the innings for this team. Sehwag will always be remembered as one of the most destructive players in cricket history, but when he passed his prime, the Delhi Capitals released the right-handed opener. 

A surprising name that Delhi Capitals did not retain was David Warner. The Aussie opener won three Orange Cap titles after the Delhi Capitals released him. Also, he guided the Sunrisers Hyderabad to the trophy in the 2016 season. 

Middle Order – Gautam Gambhir, Sanju Samson and AB de Villiers 

Another IPL-winning captain Gautam Gambhir was a part of the Delhi Daredevils first. Gambhir even captained his home franchise and returned to Delhi in 2018 after playing seven seasons for KKR. Current Rajasthan Royals captain Sanju Samson played two seasons for Delhi when the Jaipur-based franchise received a suspension. Samson played fantastically for Delhi and even recorded a century for them. 


AB de Villiers is perhaps the biggest name let go by the Delhi-based IPL franchise. The South African player has played for RCB and destroyed many bowling attacks in IPL with his excellent batting performances. 

All-rounders – Andre Russell, Chris Morris and Irfan Pathan 

Andre Russell is another match-winner that the Delhi Capitals released. Russell is now a game-changer for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL. Chris Morris was a part of DC until 2019 but then he earned massive bids from RCB and RR in the next two auctions, which suggests how good he was as an all-rounder in the shortest format.

Irfan Pathan is the only Indian all-rounder present in this XI. Pathan played 46 matches for the Delhi team and picked up 29 wickets. He even scored 468 runs with the willow. 

Bowlers – Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir and Trent Boult 

The fantastic duo of Morne Morkel and Trent Boult will be the leading fast bowlers of this team. Morkel is a former IPL Purple Cap winner, who won it when he was a Delhi player, while Delhi surprisingly traded Boult to the Mumbai Indians before IPL 2020. 

Imran Tahir is the lone spinner in the bowling group. Tahir won the Purple Cap at CSK after Delhi released him. Tahir even played for the Rising Pune Supergiant after the Delhi-based franchise released him. 

Best XI of players released by Delhi Capitals

Virender Sehwag, David Warner, Gautam Gambhir, Sanju Samson, AB de Villiers, Andre Russell, Chris Morris, Irfan Pathan, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir and Trent Boult.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: RR Twitter admin responds to Bhogle with a meme after he said few teams cheering for DC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top