6 bowlers who took four or more wickets in IPL powerplay

Chahar and Cummins IPL powerplay

Powerplay is one of the most important parts of an IPL match. The first six overs of each innings have mandatory fielding restrictions. During that period, the fielding team can only place a maximum of two fielders outside the 30 yards circle. 


The batsmen often try to play big shots in the powerplay overs. The reason behind that is the pitch is fresh and even if they do not middle the ball and only hit it above the 30 yards circle, it can clear the boundary. 

Bowling in powerplay of IPL matches is a tough job. Not every bowler can trouble the batsmen in that phase. However, there have been six bowlers in IPL history who have taken four or more wickets in the first six overs. Here’s a list of such six bowlers. 


6. Deepak Chahar picked up four wickets in powerplay against Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2021 

The Kolkata Knight Riders faced the Chennai Super Kings in the 15th match of IPL 2021. CSK batted brilliantly and scored 220 runs on the board. 

The conditions were excellent for batting, but Deepak Chahar ran through the KKR top order. He dismissed Nitish Rana, Shubman Gill, Eoin Morgan and Sunil Narine to turn the game in CSK’s favor. 

5. Pat Cummins 

Pat Cummins earned a massive contract from the Kolkata Knight Riders in 2020. He could not perform up to the mark in the first few matches. 


However, he picked up a four-wicket haul against the Rajasthan Royals in his last game of IPL 2020. Cummins dismissed Robin Uthappa, Ben Stokes, Steve Smith and Riyan Parag to complete his four-wicket haul in the powerplay. 

4. Dhawal Kulkarni is the only bowler to take a four-wicket haul in powerplay of IPL playoffs game 

The IPL Playoffs are the most crucial matches of an IPL season. The team that performs well in the playoffs takes the trophy home. 

Gujarat Lions lost to the Royal Challengers Bangalore in Qualifier 1 of IPL 2016. However, Dhawal Kulkarni impressed everyone by dismissing Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul and Sachin Baby. 

3. Ajit Chandila 

Ajit Chandila bowled a match-winning spell for the Rajasthan Royals against the Pune Warriors. He recorded his best figures of 4/13 in the 2012 edition of the IPL. 

Chandila took all four wickets in the powerplay. He first took a hat-trick by dismissing Sourav Ganguly, Jesse Ryder and Robin Uthappa. Soon, he got the better of Anustup Majumdar. 

2. Shoaib Akhtar 

Former Pakistani fast bowler Shoaib Akhtar played his only IPL season for the Kolkata Knight Riders. He won the Man of the Match award for his brilliant spell against the Delhi Daredevils. 

Akhtar picked up four wickets in the first six overs, sending Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, AB de Villiers and Manoj Tiwary back to the pavilion. Akhtar was the first bowler to achieve this feat in IPL. 

1. Ishant Sharma

Ishant Sharma is the only cricketer in IPL history to pick up a five-wicket haul in the powerplay overs. The Indian pacer achieved that record against Kochi Tuskers Kerala. 

His spell reduced Kochi to 11/6 as he sent Parthiv Patel, Raiphi Gomez, Brad Hodge, Mahela Jayawardene and Kedar Jadhav back to the dressing room. Deccan Chargers won that game comfortably. 

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Strong XI of players let go by Chennai Super Kings

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top