Indian playing XI in Virat Kohli’s 1st match as ODI captain – Where are they now?

Captain Virat Kohli

The Indian cricket team achieved a lot of success under their former white-ball captain Virat Kohli. While Virat took over as the full-time white-ball captain in the 2017 season, not many fans would remember that his first ODI match as Indian captain was against Sri Lanka in the West Indies back in 2013.


Sri Lanka beat India by 161 runs in that game. Centuries from Upul Tharanga and Mahela Jayawardene helped Sri Lanka post a 348-run total on the board for the loss of one wicket. In reply, India got all out for 187 runs. In this article today, we will look at India’s playing XI from that game and where those players are at the moment.

Openers – Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan

Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan opened the innings for Team India in that contest. Sharma scored five runs off 13 balls, while Dhawan scored a 42-ball 28. Both batters are still regular members of ODI team. Sharma is the new captain now.


Middle Order – Murali Vijay, Virat Kohli and Dinesh Karthik (wk)

Interestingly, Virat Kohli batted at number four in his first ODI as the Indian skipper. Murali Vijay batted at number three and scored 30 runs off 46 deliveries. Kohli failed to impress with the bat and scored only two runs before Angelo Mathews dismissed him. MS Dhoni did not play that game, and Dinesh Karthik kept the wickets in his absence. Karthik aggregated 22 runs off 41 deliveries.

Vijay and Karthik are no longer a part of the Indian squads in any formats. Meanwhile, Kohli is the Test captain of India and a regular member of ODI and T20I teams.

All Rounders – Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin

Suresh Raina scored 33 runs in that game, while Ravindra Jadeja was the top-scorer with a 49-run knock. Ravichandran Ashwin was the only player to take a wicket for the Indian team. Raina has now retired from international cricket, but the other two all-rounders are playing regularly for the Indian cricket team.


Bowlers – Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma

The three pacers of the team were Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami and Ishant Sharma. All three remained wicketless. They are still active in all three formats, but Umesh and Ishant majorly play in Tests.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top