Harbhajan Singh picks all-time best IPL Playing XI; Opts MS Dhoni as captain

Harbhajan Singh

Former Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh, himself regarded as one of the legends of IPL, named his all-time IPL Playing XI. Harbhajan was one of the consistent performers for the Mumbai Indians franchise from the inaugural edition in 2008 to 2017 and has also captained the franchise. Harbhajan, aged 41, played for Chennai Super Kings in the next three editions as well.


Whereas in IPL 2021, he became a part of Kolkata Knight Riders team which was also his last IPL season. He took 150 wickets in 163 matches in the IPL at an impressive economy rate of 7.07 and is also seventh in the list of top wicket takers in the history of the tournament.

Speaking to Sportkeeda, Harbhajan named his all-time Playing XI and included several star players in it.


Harbhajan opted for the opening duo of Chris Gayle and Rohit Sharma in the team as both have been one of the most explosive openers in the history of the tournament. Gayle could not feature in IPL 2022, but Rohit is still with Mumbai Indians.

Former India captain Virat Kohli, who is the highest run-scorer in the history of the tournament, has picked at number 3, while Shane Watson was placed at number four.

The two best finishers in the history of the tournament, AB de Villiers and MS Dhoni, were placed in the team at number five and six respectively. Dhoni plays the role of wicketkeeper as well as captains for Harbhajan’s selected team, followed by all-rounders Kieron Pollard and Ravindra Jadeja.


Sunil Narine, who has been a consistent performer for KKR over the years, has also found a place in Harbhajan’s team, while Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah are the two out-and-out pace bowlers picked by the veteran. Both Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah have played and is playing a vital role for Mumbai Indians.

Harbhajan Singh all-time IPL Playing XI

Chris Gayle, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Shane Watson, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni (Captain, Wicketkeeper), Kieron Pollard, Ravindra Jadeja, Sunil Narine, Lasith Malinga, Jasprit Bumrah

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top