4 players who have played all 14 IPL seasons but not won a single trophy

AB de Villiers and Ajinkya Rahane

The Indian Premier League is the grandest T20 league one earth. It is the dream of every budding cricketer to play in the IPL once. However, not every player has been able to fulfill his dream. Only the players who have impressed the Indian Premier League franchises with their cricketing skills have earned a contract in the cash-rich league.


While some great players never got to play in the Indian Premier League, quite a few players have featured in all 14 editions played in the tournament so far. Players like Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni have played in every Indian Premier League from 2008 to 2021. They have won many trophies as well, but the following 4 star players have not won an Indian Premier League title despite being a part of the tournament in all 14 seasons played so far.

1. Virat Kohli – Highest run-scorer in IPL

Virat Kohli was a part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore’s playing XI in their first ever IPL match against the Kolkata Knight Riders. He has played all seasons for RCB in the tournament and scored 6,283 runs. However, his franchise has never been able to become the champion of the competition.


2. AB de Villiers

AB de Villiers, nicknamed Mr. 360, has played for two franchises in the history of the league. He first played for Delhi Capitals and then joined the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Neither DC nor RCB have won a trophy to date.

3. Amit Mishra – Most successful Indian bowler in IPL history

It is a little surprising to note the fact that the highest run-scorer and the highest wicket-taker among Indians in the league have never been champions. Amit Mishra is only behind Lasith Malinga on the all-time IPL Most Wickets list. Mishra is currently with DC in the IPL. His former teams Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad have been IPL champions but not when Mishra was in the squad.

4. Ajinkya Rahane

The vice-captain of the Indian Test team, Ajinkya Rahane, has played for Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals, Rising Pune Supergiant and Delhi Capitals in IPL. He has scored multiple IPL centuries but never won the IPL trophy.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top