Top 5 most run scorers in IPL 2015 and Where are they now?

IPL 2015

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015 season marked a beginning of a new chapter in Indian cricket and in IPL history as Mumbai Indians dethroned Chennai Super Kings in the final of the IPL 2015 to win their 2nd IPL title.


That was just the beginning as the Rohit Sharma led Mumbai Indians went on to dominate the Indian Premier League (IPL) in the next few years. Now, Mumbai Indians is the most successful franchise in the history of the IPL having won the title a total of 5 times.

That season also saw runs being scored at a very quick rate and marked the beginning of a quickfire T20 cricket. Lots of runs were scored in IPL 2015, with the most run scorer of the tournament himself added 562 runs alone.


Today in this article, we take a look at top 5 most run scorers from IPL 2015 and where they are now.

David Warner

David Warner was the most run scorer of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2015 season. He was a member of the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) team in IPL 2015. In that season, the Australian opening batter scored a total of 562 runs in 14 matches, batting at a strike rate of more than 156. During this, he also hit 21 sixes and 65 fours enroute to capturing the orange Cap. Today, David Warner now has parted ways with SRH and now plays for Delhi Capitals.

Ajinkya Rahane

The second name in this list is then Rajasthan Royals player Ajinkya Rahane. Rahane batted brilliantly during IPL 2015 and scored 540 runs in 14 matches throughout the season. During this, his strike rate was 130.75 and average was 49.09. Apart from this, he also hit 13 sixes and 53 fours in that season. It was due to his stellar performance that Rajasthan Royals managed to make it to the playoffs in that season. However, he has lost his form the present day and has been dropped from the Indian team as well and featured for the KKR team in IPL 2022.


Lendl Simmons

Lendl Simmons was part of the IPL winning Mumbai Indians team in the year 2015. He has played only 4 seasons in his IPL career but during this time he played a key role in making Mumbai Indians the champions in IPL 2015, as in that season, Simmons scored 540 runs in 13 matches at a strike rate of over 122. Mumbai Indians defeated CSK in the final of the tournament. Now, Lendl Simmons no more plays in the IPL and doesn’t even feature for West Indies either.

AB de Villiers

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) also made it to the playoffs in IPL 2015, although they could not reach the final. But AB de Villiers was instrumental in taking the team to that point. He was at fourth place in that season to score the most runs. De Villiers scored 513 runs in 16 matches in IPL 2015 at a strike rate of more than 175. De Villiers remained a key member of the RCB team throughout and officially retired after IPL 2021.

Virat Kohli

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) captain Virat Kohli batted well in IPL 2015 and Virat Kohli was the fifth highest run-scorer in that season. Virat Kohli scored 505 runs in 16 matches for his team in that season, during which his strike rate was 130.82 and averaged around 46. Now, even though Kohli has remained with RCB, he has been a drastic change in form. And, he now longer captains the Indian team anymore.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top