“Most underpaid player in IPL”- AB de Villiers picks the most underpaid star in IPL history

"Most underpaid player in IPL"- AB de Villiers picks the most underpaid star in IPL history

The Indian Premier League is one of the biggest cricket tournaments in the world. Not just in terms of competitiveness but also in terms of money. Players get paid here, which is way more than the national contract they get from playing for their country.


Not just that, some players who haven’t even represented their country at the highest level get paid much more. In the last auction ahead of the IPL 2023, the world saw the IPL franchises break their bank for the likes of Sam Curran, Cameron Green, Ben Stokes, and Nicholas Pooran.

These players become the costliest players not in the 2023 season but in the history of all the IPL auctions held to date. Curran bagged a wholesome amount of INR 18.5 crore, while Green was acquired by MI for a whopping amount of INR 17.5 crore. Stokes (INR 16.25 crore) and Pooran (NR 16 crore) also bagged big money.


Well, then, there are a few superstars who are part of the league, and one can argue that they deserve a lot more money than they are getting at the moment. One such name was picked by an IPL legend himself, AB de Villiers.

De Villiers was one of the biggest names that played in the IPL, and the impact he had on the tournament was beyond words, which is one of the reasons that he was one of the most paid stars in the tournament, earning INR 11 crore per season when he retired.

However, De Villiers feels that veteran South African star David Miller is the most underpaid player in the history of the league. In his latest interaction, he named Miller and said that he hasn’t been paid as per the match-winning skills he has.

Notably, Miller is part of the Gujarat Titans setup and is playing for INR 3 crore per season. However, he was getting paid INR 12.5 crore per season between 2014 and 2017 by the Punjab Kings. The Southpaw has scored 2697 runs in 116 IPL games. Miller had his best performance in 2022, when he scored 481 runs for GT and was one of the reasons Gujarat won the title.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top