3 teams you may not know played in the 50 overs Cricket World Cup

World Cup

Another edition of the 50 over World Cup is almost upon us. The next edition of the Cricket World Cup is to be played in 2023 to be hosted by India. England are the current defending champions having won the crown at their home last time out in 2019.


The 50 overs Cricket World Cup is the grandest spectacle of the game. It is contested by some of the top cricket playing countries around the world.

However, there have been some associate teams who have in the last couple of years have managed to in the world and managed a great account of themselves and has put up great fights.


Talking about associate nations, there have been some teams who have miraculously managed to get in the World Cup, but that ended up as their first and last appearance. Today, in this article, we take a look at 3 teams who played in the World Cup just once.


Bermuda played their first international ODI match against Canada on 17 May 2006, and won that match. The most memorable moment for Bermuda was in 2005 when they qualified for the World Cup. Bermuda qualified in its first and only World Cup tournament in 2007.

In this World Cup, they were placed in the group alongwith India, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. However, they lost all their matches and failed to make it to the Super 8. After that, not has Bermuda not qualified for any other World Cup, but they are lost in the scenes as well.



African country Namibia overcame all odds and made it to the 2003 World Cup. However, they completely failed to make their mark in the tournament and could not win a single match. Namibia’s World Cup campaign started against Zimbabwe and they lost the match by 86 runs.

In the very next match, they faced Pakistan and werr bundled out for 84 runs and Pakistan won the match easily. He also played England, India, Australia and Netherlands in the tournament. After that appearance, Namibia have not made it to the 50 overs senior World Cup yet.

East Africa

East Africa made its appearance in the 1975 World Cup. The East Africa team was representing the countries such as Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia and Uganda. In their very first match in the 1975 World Cup, East Africa faced New Zealand and suffered a big defeat. They also played India and England in the competition but suffered defeat in all of those.

Nowadays, Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia and Uganda have separate International team now and East Africa no longer exists.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top