2 Big Records that Could Be Broken if Chennai Super Kings Win the IPL 2023 Final vs Gujarat Titans; MS Dhoni Could Make History

On Tuesday, May 23, in the IPL 2023 Qualifier 1 at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai, the Chennai Super Kings emerged victorious over the Gujarat Titans by a margin of 15 runs. This win secured their place in the IPL 2023 final.


The last time the Chennai Super Kings reached the final was in the 2021 season, where they clinched their fourth title by defeating the Kolkata Knight Riders in Dubai. It is noteworthy that this successful season follows the team’s second-worst performance in the IPL, finishing ninth out of ten teams in the 2022 edition.

The triumph in the Qualifier 1 match against the Gujarat Titans also marked the Chennai Super Kings’ first victory over the Titans in their four encounters thus far in the tournament. The teams had previously faced each other in the IPL 2023 opener on March 31 in Ahmedabad, where the Titans emerged as the winners by five wickets.


Additionally, this victory in the Qualifier 1 game was the fifth time that Chennai Super Kings have emerged triumphant in such matches since the introduction of the playoff stages in the 2011 season.

While the Chennai Super Kings have claimed four IPL titles, they have faced defeat in the finals on five occasions. Mumbai Indians have been their opponents in three of those finals, while the Kolkata Knight Riders and the Rajasthan Royals each defeated them once.

As the Chennai Super Kings approach another significant milestone in their IPL journey, there are two records that could potentially be broken if the MS Dhoni-led side emerges as champions in the 2023 edition.


Chennai Super Kings could become 5-time IPL Champion, reaching the same heights as Mumbai Indians

If the Chennai Super Kings emerge victorious in the IPL 2023 final against the Gujarat Titans on Sunday, they would achieve a significant milestone by claiming their fifth IPL title.

Currently, the Mumbai Indians hold the record for the most IPL titles, also having won the tournament five times. The Chennai Super Kings have four IPL titles to their credit, which were achieved in the years 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021. On the other hand, the Mumbai Indians clinched their IPL titles in the years 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.

A win in the IPL final would also place MS Dhoni, the captain of the Chennai Super Kings, alongside Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma as the most successful captains in the history of the tournament.

Both Dhoni and Sharma have led their respective teams to the IPL title on four occasions. Therefore, a victory for the Chennai Super Kings would not only equal the Mumbai Indians’ record of five titles but also further solidify the legacy of MS Dhoni as one of the most successful captains in the IPL.

MS Dhoni could become the oldest captain to win IPL Trophy

MS Dhoni, the charismatic leader of the Chennai Super Kings, has indeed been a consistent champion for the franchise. If his team secures victory in the final against the Gujarat Titans, it would mark a remarkable milestone in his career.

At the age of 41, MS Dhoni would become the oldest captain in IPL history to win the title. This accomplishment would be a testament to his longevity, skill, and leadership abilities.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top