Twitter Reaction

“A new series, a new captain” – Twitter reacts as Shikhar Dhawan becomes Team India’s 7th captain in 2022

TR Shikhar Dhawan captain India vs West Indies ODI 2022

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) and the All India Senior Selection Comittee has today announced the Indian team’s squad for the upcoming West Indies ODI series. However, fans were quite surprised to see Shikhar Dhawan as captain, the 7th India captain in the year 2022.


After the Indian cricket team’s assignment in England concludes, the Men in Blue will then travel to the Caribbean Islands to play 3 match ODI and as many T20I match series.

Today, the BCCI and the selection committee has announced the Indian team’s squad for the ODI series against Carribbeans. And surprisingly, opening batsman Shikhar Dhawan has named captain while Ravindra Jadeja will be serving as his deputy where all the senior members of the team has been rested. The squad is as follows:


Shikhar Dhawan (C), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (WK), Sanju Samson (WK), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.

However, after the squad announcement, fans were quite surprised to see 7th different captain in 2022 for the Indian team across all formats.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top