Asia Cup 2022: Indian team Playing XI from the last time that India played Hong Kong

Asia Cup 2022

Asia Cup 2022 is currently on in full swing as Afghanistan and Team India won their respective matches from the opening 2 matches of the tournament. While Afghanistan best the hosts Sri Lanka, Team India got the better of arch-rival Pakistan.


With that, the 2nd round of actions starts from the 30th of August with Afghanistan taking on Bangladesh on the 30th of August while India will play against Hong Kong on the 31st of August.

Hong Kong qualified for the tournament after having taken part and winning the Asia Cup 2022 qualifiers that was played between August 20 and 24. Hong Kong is a much unknown team to a lot as they don’t play against the top teams.


However, there has been opportunities when Team India took Hong Kong. Today in this article, we take a look at Indian team Playing XI from the last time that India played Hong Kong.

The match we are talking about in from the Asia Cup 2018. That edition of the tournament was played in ODI format and thus India has never played Hong Kong in any T20I matches.


Taking back to the match in 2018, Team India had a very solid opening and a left and right hand combination of Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan. While Dhawan is not part of the squad this time, Rohit Sharma is the captain of the team. Dhawan played a fantastic inning and scored a century while Rohit scored only 23 runs.



The middle-order has changed considerably for the Indian team since that match. At that time, it was Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik and MS Dhoni who were playing in the middle-order. While Dinesh Karthik is a part of the team, Dhoni and Rayudu has both retired. Rayudu also played a great inning in that match, adding 60 runs while Karthik scored 33 runs. Dhoni though, didn’t put a big score beside his name.


The only all-rounder who played in that match for Team India was the right-hand batsman Kedar Jadhav. Jadhav delivered with both the bat and ball in that match as he scored 28 runs and gave away the same number of runs with the ball in his 7 overs.


The bowling line-up in the match consisted of 5 proper bowlers. While Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed and Shardul Thakur were the pace bowlers, KulCha (Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal) were the spin bowlers. Shardul had a really bad match as he was expensive while Khaleel Ahmed and Yuzvendra Chahal got 3 wickets each. Kuldeep Yadav also chipped in with 2 wickets to his name.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top