Twitter Reaction

“Did they forget that Sri Lanka didn’t allowed Sehwag to score century by bowling a no ball” – Twitter reacts as Rohit Sharma withdrew the appeal to run out Sri Lanka captain Dasun Shanaka on non-striker end so he can score his century

Rohit Sharma Dasun Shanaka

The Indian cricket team dominated the 1st One Day International (ODI) match against the Sri Lankan team. However, the match ended on a controversial note.


After India won the T20I series earlier against the same opposition, the 1st match of the 3 match ODI series was played last night on the 10th January in Guwahati.

Batting first after winning the toss, the Sri Lankan captain opted to bowl first. Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill gave India a good start. Rohit scored 83 while Shubman scored 70 runs.


However, the biggest spectacle of the match was former India captain Virat Kohli first ODI century since 2019. Also known as King Kohli by his fans, he scored 113 runs to take India to 373 runs.

The Indian bowlers also showcased their talent, taking 3 wickets for just 64 runs. Mohammed Siraj and Umran Malik was in top form. And once when the Sri Lankan was looking in danger getting dismantled early on, Sri Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka played a crucial inning, adding 108 runs not out.

However, he could have not completed his milestone had the Indian team captain Rohit did not retract the appeal to run him out on non-striker end.


Now that the rule of running out a player on non-striker end has become official, the Indian fans were disappointed when Rohit Sharma retract the run out appeal when Shanaka was on 98 runs.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top