2 players you don’t remember who captained Kings XI Punjab in the IPL

Kings XI Punjab

The Indian Premier League today in one of the most successful T20 cricket league in the world. And Punjab Kings, is one of the founding members of the competition among the 8 members.


Despite being the founding member that was established in the same year as the Indian Premier League was incepted, the year 2008, but the franchise is yet to win the league.

Initially the team was founded as the Kings XI Punjab. But after number of seasons being unable to win the IPL Trophy, team was renamed to Punjab Kings.


The team had some great representatives. The team saw some great captains throughout its history. KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal are the latest captains of the team.

But do you know that these 2 players were Kings XI Punjab captain? Today in this article, we take a look at 2 players who were Kings XI Punjab captain but many still don’t know.

David Miller

David Miller has been a part of the Indian Premier League since 2012. The South African batsman has played 105 matches in the Indian Premier League (IPL) and has scored a total of 2455 runs at a decent average of 37.20 and a strike rate of 137.


The 33-year-old captained Kings XI Punjab in the 2016 IPL season. He was appointed captain at the start of the season, but was later stripped of the team’s captaincy following poor results and Miller’s poor performances with the bat.

Murali Vijay

Murali Vijay has had a stellar IPL career. He has performed phenomenally for the Chennai Super Kings, after which he has played for other franchises as well. Vijay has so far played 106 matches in the Indian Premier League and has scored over 2619 runs at an average of 25.9.

The star batsman from Tamil Nadu was picked by Kings XI Punjab in the 2016 IPL auction. But after not getting good results under the captaincy of David Miller, in the very same season Vijay was given the responsibility of captaincy in Miller’s place. However, Vijay also failed to perform well as captain.

Kings XI Punjab won only three out of the eight matches played under his captaincy while they had to face defeat in the rest of the matches.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top Stories

To Top